Very heavy rain greeted the drivers. At the end of the day the sun came out but only a few ventured onto slick tyres. 

The meeting was the second round of the Boyndie Drome Open Championships 2018.  It was also the second and final round of the Gold Cup.  The initial round was held earlier at Crail, Fife.

With seven classes meant a busy day of 28 races.


The four six to eight year olds took to the track in wet conditions.  Points scored over all four time trial runs during the day decided the winner.  These miniature karters looked good in the trying conditions with Katie Donaldson coming out on top on this occasion.  Sonny Brandie came second followed by Carla McPhee and Mia Cross (Rothienorman)

  • 1st Katie Donaldson (Dufftown)
  • 2nd Sonny Brandie (Newmacher)
  • 3rd Carla McPhee (Inverurie)

Honda Cadets

Connor Duncan took a comfortable victory in the Honda Cadet class and was later crown Gold Cup champion.  The race got spread out with the only close contest was for second between Leon Hastie and Max Taylor. Hastie took second with Taylor nipping his bumper all the way.  Fourth home was Lennon Allardyce followed by Andy Boyle, Taylor Thomson and Rhys Baillie. 

  • 1st Connor Duncan (Laurancekirk)
  • 2nd Leon Hastie (Windygates),  
  • 3rd Max Taylor (New Leads)

Mini Max

From the red lights going out Ben Burnett opened up ahead over Les Taylor.  However Taylor pushed a little to hard and spun at Kevin’s Korner, which allowed Jonathan Edwards, Callum Meldrum and Spencer Howes through.  Meldrum piped second from Edwards a lap later.  Burnett took the victory with Meldrum second and Edwards third.  Just out of the podium was Howes and Taylor.  Rebecca MacPhee won the battle of the girls from Chloe Grant. Kieran Wood followed Kigen Welsh home.

  • 1st Ben Burnett (Oldmeldrum)
  • 2nd Callum Meldrum (Glenrothes)
  • 3rd Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)

Prokarts (Hire Karts)

Daniel Macrae took the early lead from the lights going out, and the rest of the field followed in grid order of Chris Walker, Liam Souter, Keiran Glen, Rik Christie and Cameron McPhee.  Walker took the lead on the second lap but Macrae got the position back a lap later.  Souter moved to second at mid distance.  The race settled with Macrae taking the victory from Souter, Walker, Glen, Christie and McPhee. 

  • 1stDaniel Macrae (Inverness)
  • 2nd Liam Souter (Banff),
  • 3rd Chris Walker (Aberlour)

Senior Max 177 / Clubman

Steven Watt was never headed and took the chequered flag for victory. Jason Fraser and Dominic Lund battled out for second and Lund moved to second on the fifth lap.  They were able to retain these positions until the end.  Martin Wall finished fourth.

  • 1stSteven Watt (Aberdeen)
  • 2nd Dominic Lund (Turriff)
  • 3rd Jason Fraser (Methlick)

Senior Max

Ryan Simpson from the outside of the front row made the best start and moved across in front of poleman, Fraser Skene, to lead at the end of lap one.  At gate corner on the second lap Skene got inside of Simpson to lead.  Skene was never headed to take the win and later to collect the Gold Cup for the class. Stuart Pollock moved to third at mid distance.  Simpson held second until the last lap when Pollock and Steven Thomson got ahead of him.  Simpson came home in a disappointing fourth.  Alan Aitken was fifth Fraser Ballantyne and Steven Bain.

  • 1st Fraser Skene (Potterton)
  • 2nd Stuart Pollock (East Calder)
  • 3rd Steven Thomson (Tarves)

KZ2UK (Gearbox)

The best race was number 28, and last of the day. Colin Mcirvine grabbed the early lead from the lights going out.  However Neil Anderson and Gary Warren were quicker up the straight on lap two. Anderson pulled a lead but Warren cut it back.  Warren was putting pressure on Anderson and rubbing coming out of Kevin’s Corner on lap five.  Just as we were thinking it was all over Anderson ran wide onto the dirt at the top of the circuit allowing Warren through and the victory. Anderson came home second.  Charlie Mackintosh had been running third but was pipped on the second last tour by Ross Armstrong.  Mcirvine came home fifth ahead of Ian Sinclair and David Wiseman.

  • 1stGary Warren (Aberdeen)
  • 2nd Neil Anderson (Insch) 
  • 3rdRoss Armstrong (Hatton) 

A number of the drivers were complaining the there was something on the track at the end of the straight making it slippy. 

Gold Cup 2018

Honda Cadets

Champion – Connor Duncan – (Laurancekirk), Runner–up – Leon Hastie (Windygates), Third – Rhys Baillie (Broxburn)

Mini Max

Champion – Ben Burnett (Oldmeldrum), Runner-up – Callum Meldrum (Glenrothes)

Third – Spencer Howes (Inverkeithing)

Senior Max 

Champion – Fraser Skene (Potterton), Runner-up – Alan Aitken (Blairgowrie)

GKC Chair, Sheryl Borton, presented trophies for GKC after the meeting.

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 10th June.