The first round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge took place on Sunday 10th March 2019 in freezing cold weather, but dry.

However the finals were in the wet ending up in snow.  A program of 36 races was scheduled for the day.  The feature trophy was the Marshal’s Cup, which the marshal’s of the day voting for the drivers the driver that impressed them most.

11-Katie Donaldson


The Bambinos time trial, Katie Donaldson set the fastest time and was followed by Finlay Smith and Harry Matheson.

  • 1st Katie Donaldson (Dufftown)
  • 2nd Finlay Smith (Stuartfield)
  • 3rdHarry Matheson (Muir of Ord)
  • Marshal’s Cup – Harry Matheson (Muir of Ord)
85-Fraser Skene, 89-Steven Thomson lead the way

Senior Max

Fraser Skene took the victory by 8.5 seconds over Steven Thomson.  A close battle between Dominic Lund, Fraser Ballantyne and Steven Bain was the order as they crossed the finishing line by less than a second apart.

  • 1st Fraser Skene (Potterton)
  • 2nd Steven Thompson (Tarves)
  • 3rd Dominic Lund (Turriff)
16-Steven Duncan, 74-Max Taylor

Honda Cadet

A clean start by pole sitter Steven Duncan was ahead of Max Taylor and the rest of the pack. The front pair gradually drew away.  Taylor challenged at the end of Boyndie Straight on several occasions but Duncan resisted.  Taylor dropped away before the chequered flag with Duncan taking the victory.  Next up was a group of three, Leon Hastie, Taylor Thomson and Rhys Ballie. Thomson gained third with two laps to go and Ballie move to fourth on the penultimate lap.  Hastie finished fifth with Aiden Mcdonald sixth.

  • 1st Steven Duncan (Aberchirder)
  • 2nd – Max Taylor (New Leeds)  
  • 3rd Taylor Thomson (Kirkcaldy)
56-Gary Flemming 

Twin Engined Prokart (Owner Drivers)

Gary Flemming took the early lead, which he held to the chequered flag.  Richard Christie held second at the end of the first lap however Grant Miller moved into the position on the second tour. Nicky Sutherland moved to third a lap later.  The race became spread out with Flemming taking the victory and Miller second followed home by Sutherland, Christie and David Leiper.

  • 1st Garry Fleming (Arbroath)
  • 2nd Grant Miller (Montrose)
  • 3rd Nicky Sutherland (Stonehaven)
Battling for position

Jnr/Mini Max

Poleman Jonathan Edwards led the pack away but ran wide at Kevin’s Korner allowing Leon Henderson through.  Henderson broke away to take the victory on the road but was disappointed when the kart failed a technical infringement at scrutineering and was demoted to third. Les Taylor worked his way through with Owen Ross and Callum Meldrum. 

Taylor took the victory followed by Owen Ross.

Darren Guijt led the Mini Max class early on.  By lap 3 Lennon Brandie had made his may through to lead and carried on to take the victory.  Guijt took second with Nathan Smith, third and Kieran Wood fourth.

Mini Max

  • 1st Lennon Brandie (Newmachar)
  • 2nd Darren Guijt (Kennethmont)
  • 3rd Nathan Smith (Stuartfield)

Junior Max

  • 1st Les Taylor (New Leeds)
  • 2nd  Owen Ross (Inverness)
  • 3rd Leon Henderson (Newmachar)
36-Robert Strachan

Senior Max 177 / Clubman

Robert Strachan took the 177 victory over Stewart Thomson.

In the 162 kg Gavin Allan led Kes Watson who took the lead on lap two followed by Scott James and Peter Lesisz. This order did not alter therefore Watson took the victory from James and Lesisz.  Steven Gall took fourth.


  • 1st Kes Watson (Oldmeldrum)
  • 2nd Scott James (Longside)
  • 3rd Peter Lesisz (Huntly)

Senior Max 177

  • 1st Robert Strachan (Cuminstown)
  • 2nd Stewart Thomson (Tarves)
4-Ben Burnett, 6-Dane Christison

Prokarts (hire karts)

In almost blizzard conditions Kerran Glen led away from the lights followed by 2018 Prokart Champion Daniel McRae.  McRae dropped back to fourth with Ben Gordon and Ben Burnett moving through. But by three laps latter McRae was leading from Glen, Gordon and Dylan Bruce.  Next home was Burnett and Hamish Ross.

  • 1stDaniel Macrae (Inverness) 
  • 2nd Keirran Glen (Banff)
  • 3rdBen Gordon (Whiterashes)
 23-Jack Gordon

KZ2 UK (Gearbox)

Jack Gordon showed his class in the deteriating conditions to take victory the gearbox victory by almost 13 seconds.  Gary Warren was second approaching the finishing line for the first time when Walter Wallace got to the inside to nose ahead across the line.  Gary Williams was in fourth, which he made third on lap four.  Warren retired.  Ross Armstrong moved to fourth and was followed home by Neil Anderson and Colin McIrvine.

  • 1stJack Gordon (Whiterashes)
  • 2ndWalter Wallace (Peterhead)
  • 3rdGary Williams (Ellon) 

GKC Chair, Fraser Edwards, presented trophies for GKC after the meeting.

Electronic timing results –

Next race meeting takes place on 24 March 2019.