The third and final round of the GKC Motorsport UK Championship took place on Sunday 8th September at the Boyndie Drome Circuit.

Cold start to a brilliant day of sunshine was the weather conditions.  The feature trophies were the Granville Grubb Memorial Trophy, for gearbox drivers, and the GKC Team Trophy.  The team trophy, were teams of four drawn by ballot. 


The three bambinos lead off the precedence with Finlay Smith 

 Setting fastest time of 54.355 seconds.  Katie Donaldson was second quickest, followed by Eilidh MacDonald.

  • 1st – Finlay Smith (Stuartfield)
  • 2nd – Katie Donaldson (Dufftown)
  • 3rd – Eilidh MacDonald (Turriff)

Senior Max / 177

Fraser Skene got the better of Keiran Smart on the first lap.  Skene held the lead until lap 7 when Smart got to the inside of at pit corner.  Smart held one for the victory.  Steven Thomson was third with Logan Blake, fourth.

In the 177 class, Robert Strachan lead from Jamie Mackay, Stuart Wyness and Alan Falconer.  The front three could have been covered by a blanket, but the positions did not change throughout the race. Strachan took the victory followed by Mackay, Wyness and Falconer.

Snr max

  • 1st – Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)
  • 2nd – Fraser Skene (Potterton)
  • 3rd – Steven Thomson (Barthol Chapel) (Top Novice)

snr max 177

  • 1st – Robert Strachan (Cuminstown)
  • 2nd – Jamie Mackay (Halkirk)
  • 3rd – Stuart Wyness (Inverurie)
  • Top Novice – Alan Falconer (Inverness)

Honda Cadets

The pair of Max Taylor and Leon Hastie broke away from the pack.  The lead changed on many occasions but it was Taylor who took the chequered flag with Hastie a tenth back.  Once the boys were back in garage the clerk of the course, congratulated both drivers for a great race by given each other room and racing respect.  Aiden Macdonald took the final podium spot from novice Finn McIlwrath.  Lucas Ross Cameron was next home, followed by Sonny Brandie.

  • 1st – Max Taylor (New Leeds)
  • 2nd – Leon Hastie (Markinch)
  • 3rd – Aiden MacDonald (Turriff)

Junior Max / Mini Max

Max Taylor opened a 10 metre gap over Leon Henderson early on in the final which he held right to the chequered flag.  A slight touch at Kevin’s corner pushed Jack Mackay wide, which allowed Chloe Grant and Nathan Smith through.  Grant took third with Smith fourth and the recovering Mackay fifth. 

Jnr Max

  • 1st – Les Taylor (New Leeds)
  • 2nd – Leon Henderson (Kingseat)
  • 3rd – Chloe Grant (Perth)


1st – Lennon Allardyce (Peterhead) 

KZ2UK (Gearbox)

Darren Allen got the best start from the outside of the front row to lead at the end of the first lap Ryan Megennis and Neil Maclennan.  Allen gradually extended his lead till almost 5 seconds by the chequered flag.  Allen set the quickest lap of 32.697 seconds.  Megennis was second from Maclennan.  Fourth up was the hard charging Gary Williams who was followed home by Ryan Simpson, Neil Anderson and Jonathan Edwards.

  • 1st – Darren Allen (Bishopbriggs)
  • 2nd – Ryan Magennis (Inverness)
  • 3rd – Neil Maclennan (Tore)

Granville Grubb Memorial Trophy – Darren Allen (Bishopsbriggs)

GKC Team Trophy – Sonny Brandie, Max Taylor, Les Taylor, Darren Allen

GKC Chair, Fraser Edwards, presented trophies after the meeting.

Full race results available on speedhive.

MSUK 2019 Point Standings

Next race meeting takes place on 13th October 2019.

GKC Team Trophy Winners
Granville Grubb Memorial Trophy – Darren Allen (Bishopsbriggs)