Like 2020, COVID-19 again delayed the racing season at Boyndie Drome. As with last year the meeting was split across two days to reduce the number of people on site at one time.

Saturday 8th May was cold with rain throughout the afternoon.

Sunday 9th was warmer and dry with an increasing southerly wind.

Feature Trophies of the day were:- 

Dickie Bent Cup – voted by the marshals, the driver who most impressed.  

Kildonan Shield – for a senior driver who scored the best points over the day.


The six Bambinos took to the track to start the 2021 season.  Bambinos do 4 timed heats with the fastest lap declared the winner. On this occasion it was Frazer Anderson followed by Jude Buchan and William Alexander.

  • 1st – Frazer Anderson (Kelty)
  • 2nd – Jude Buchan (Mintlaw)
  • 3rd – William Alexander (Peterhead)

Honda Cadets

Daniel Dempster got the best start and led for the first three laps. Aiden MacDonald took the lead on the fourth tour. Duncan Ingram was challenging Dempster lap after lap. Ingram got through with one lap to go. Dempster challenged at the last corner on the last lap and the two touched. MacDonald took the victory. Dempster took second with Finlay Smith third. The recovering Ingram crossed the line in fourth. Katie Donaldson and Leo Massie were the next two home.

  • 1st – Aiden Macdonald (Woodhead)
  • 2nd – Daniel Dempster (Daviot)
  • 3rd – Finlay Smith (Stuartfield)

Hire Kart (lights)

Poleman Daniel MacRae took the lead and was never headed to the chequered flag. Logan Blake had a comfortable run for second ahead of Stuart Robertson and Linda Rose. Fifth home was Duncan George Ross and Ciaran Hall sixth.

  • 1st – Daniel MacRae (Elgin)
  • 2nd – Logan Blake (Oldmeldrum)
  • 3rd – Stuart Robertson (New Pitsligo)

Hire Kart (heavies)

Neil Halliwell took a lights to flag victory. Brett Cowan took the no. 3 kart to second and Scott Duncan came through to third. Phil Couper was fourth home, followed by Michael Rose and Roy Wilson.

  • 1st – Neil Halliwell (Kintore)
  • 2nd – Brett Cowan (Aberdeen)
  • 3rd – Scott Duncan (Portsoy)

Mini Max

In worsening conditions Eihli Smith took the victory over Cameron Hobson.

  • 1st – Eihli Smith (Westhill)
  • 2nd – Cameron Hobson (Hopeman)
Cole Richie was awarded the Dickie Bent Cup

Junior Max

As the rain lashed the circuit Steven Duncan led from Cole Ritchie.  At mid distance Richie’s kart came alive closing down Duncan. Richie got the inside line at Gate Corner and streaked away to take the victory by 3.5 seconds. This impressed the marshals who voted Cole Richie the winner of the Dickie Bent Cup. Craig Steven came third and Mark Patterson fourth.

  • 1st – Cole Rithie (Aberdeen)
  • 2nd – Steven Duncan (Aberchirder)
  • 3rd – Craig Steven (Elgin)

Senior Twin Engine Prokarts

Pole-man, Murray Scott took the early lead until a carburetion problem caused him to slow. Dave Leiper took the lead and was not headed until the chequered flag. Rik Christie was second home followed by Ralph Sturrock. Scott struggled on to come home in fourth.

  • 1st – Dave Leiper (Arbuthnott)
  • 2nd – Rik Christie (Aberdeen)
  • 3rd – Ralph Sturrock (Carnoustie)

Senior Max (162kg)

Jonathan Edwards got the best run to MTM bend from the starting lights to lead from Keiran Smart. However his lead was short lived as Smart got to the inside at Pit Corner on lap two. Smart was never headed and took the victory by a second from Edwards. Dominic Lund was third for six laps until Steven Thomson took the position. Kes Watson and Steven Bain were next home.

  • 1st – Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)
  • 2nd – Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)
  • 3rd – Steven Thomson (Barthol Chapel)

Senior Max (177kg)

Robert Strachan took a comfortable 177 victory from Stewart Thomson and Robert Walker

  • 1st – Robert Strachan (Cuminestown)
  • 2nd – Stewart Thomson (Tarves)
  • 3rd – Robert Walker (Aberlour)

Senior Max Clubman

Adrian Brodie won the Clubman class from Phillip Paterson and Michael Paton.

  • 1st – Adrian Brodie (Banff)
  • 2nd – Phillip Paterson (Forgue)
  • 3rd – Michael Paton (Elgin)
Ally Smith picked up the Kildonan Shield for the best points in a senior class

KZUK Gearbox

For the first time in recent years there was a standing start for the gearbox karts at Boyndie, which went down well with the drivers. Ally Smith from pole position, took the lead when the lights went out. Neil Maclennan took up the chase and closed to challenge early in the 18 lap (9 minute) final. Smith opened the gap to 1.8 seconds at the chequered flag. Rory MacLennan settled into third with Adam Barbour in fourth. Ryan Simpson and Alex Mackay completed the top six. Positions did not change by the finishing line.

  • 1st – Ally Smith (Peterhead)
  • 2nd – Neil Maclennan (Tore)
  • 3rd – Rory Maclennan (Tore)

Next race meeting at Boyndie will take place on 13th June 2021 which will be the first round of the Scottish Super Series.

The next BDOC will be 19th-20th June 2021.

Dorothy Wyness presented the trophies.

Full race results can be viewed on Speedhive and championship points available on the BDOC page.