A new fixture to the GKC Calendar for 2022 to kick start the season in February.

Storms dominated the winter with the latest being Storm Eunice. Dumping snow all around the Shire but staying clear of the Boyndie Drome Circuit.  Blue skies were the order of the day with a strong westerly wind providing a sting in the tail. It was the unique GP Plate meeting which attracted an entry of over fifty drivers from near and far.


This was the first time at GKC that Bambinos competed wheel-to-wheel rather than the previous time trial format. From a standing start, the front row of Cooper Earsman and Sorren Gallagher set off up the Boyndie Straight. Earsman led with Gallagher tucked in behind. Lap 5 Gallagher made a bid for the lead and Earsman tucked in behind his rear bumper. Gallagher held on to take the chequered flag first with Earsman only 3 tenths back. Louis MacDonald came third and Luca Bicocchi fourth

  • 1st – Sorren Gallagher (Mull)
  • 2nd – Cooper Earsman (Whitehills)
  • 3rd – Louis MacDonald (Fyvie)

Honda Cadets

After several false starts, Ryan White led away when the lights went out. Closely followed by Calvin Moffat, Zane Sword, Thomas Jackson, Leo Massie and Bella Brown. Over the ten minute final White maintained the lead and opened a gap of 3.6 seconds by the finish line. Moffat and Sword swapped positions several times with Sword taking the position over Moffat at the line. Bella Brown came home fourth ahead of Leo Massie, Thomas Jackson and Vinnie Lewis. Amaya Thomson in her first cadet race, was eighth with Sophie Ingram close behind and Archie Cannon, tenth also in his first cadet outing.

  • 1st – Ryan White (Peterculter)
  • 2nd – Zane Sword (Dundee)
  • 3rd – Calvin Moffat (Lochgelly)

Mini Max

First lap drama when Duncan Ingram was pushed onto the grass at Seafield by Aiden MacDonald. MacDonald led the race and took the chequered flag but was docked 4 places for the earlier incident. This left Aston Sharp with the victory with the recovering Ingram second. William Brazier took third on his first outing.

  • 1st – Aston Sharp (Aberdeen)
  • 2nd – Duncan Ingram (Macduff)
  • 3rd – William Brazier (Newmachar)

Junior Max

A number of karts were off at Pit Corner at the first time of asking.  As a result Alex Hawcutt led with Matilda Brazier second. The race settled down with Hawcutt leading followed by Mackay, Eihli Smith, Brazier and Jemma Hiorns.  In the latter stages Hiorns closed in on Brazier but clipped the kerb at MTM Bend giving Brazier a length or two. Hawcutt took the victory with Mackay and Smith completing the podium.

  • 1st – Alex Hawcutt (Portleten)
  • 2nd – Aaron Mackay (West Linton)
  • 3rd – Eihli Smith (Westhill)

Senior Twin Engine Prokarts

Kart No 1, Murray Scott, took a lights to flag victory by 7 seconds from Dave Leiper. Leiper was only 3 tenths ahead of Rik Christie. Next up was Nicky Sutherland. Mike Rose was fifth with youngster Cameron Bailey on his bumper. James Burnett seventh.

  • 1st – Murray Scott (Glenrothes)
  • 2nd – Dave Leiper (Arbuthnott)
  • 3rd – Rik Christie (Aberdeen)

Senior Max 162kg & 177kg

After sunshine all day a big black cloud was being blown towards Boyndie Drome. The senior max karts went took the start on slicks. Sleet began to fall on lap three which made conditions very difficult for slick shod karts. Many visits were made to the grass. Ryan Sharp went into the barriers at pit corner where he abandoned the kart. The two heavier karts of Robert Strachan and Alan Falconer were making the best of it with Strachan leading on the road. As they took the chequered flag it was Strachan, Falconer and Watson. Kes Watson after joked he was cutting the grass.

  • 1st – Kes Watson (Oldmeldrum)
  • 2nd – Ryan Sharp (Aberdeen)

KZUK Gearbox

Ryan Magennis took the early lead from Ryan Simpson and Jack Simpson.  Simpson was on the attack closing on Magennis lap by lap. Ryan Simpson was pushing hard at gate corner but a spin ended his attack. This allowed Jack Simpson through. Magennis took the victory with Jack Simpson second and Ryan Simpson third.

  • 1st – Ryan Magennis (Beauly)
  • 2nd – Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh)
  • 3rd – Ryan Simpson (Banff)

Sheryl Borton, Club Chairman, presented the trophies.

Full race results can be viewed on Speedhive.