A bumper entry of 92 competitors took part in the 2022 ASKC Scottish Karting Championships.

 Held over the weekend of 9 & 10 July, the weather had the drivers seeking shelter. With the mercury reaching mid-twenties it was a very hot weekend for the majority of the paddock. A saltire cross formed by vapour trails graced the sky over the Boyndie Drome venue.

L-R : Aiden MacDonald, Alexander Duffie & Aston Sharp

Mini Max (11-14 years old)

Aston Sharp had a tremendous start to take the lead of the final by the end of the first of the 23 lap final. After the first few laps the race order settled down to Sharp, Alexander Duffie, Aiden MacDonald, Mattao Palazzo and Alexander Reid. Duffie was homing in on Sharp and it was on lap 18 Duffie made his move to take the lead. Taking the win by a tenth of a second from Sharp. The rest of the field held their positions throughout the race. MacDonald took the final step on the podium with Palazzo close behind. The top six was completed by Reid and Kyle Smith. Duffie broke the class lap record by setting a 38.333 seconds lap time during heat 1.

  • 1st – Alexander Duffie (Bathgate)
  • 2nd – Aston Sharp (Aberdeen)
  • 3rd – Aiden MacDonald (Woodhead)
L-R : Finlay Smith, Euan House & Evi Davidson

Honda Cadets (8-12 years old)

The large grid of 26 drivers took the lights with Ryan White and Leo Massie on the front row. Massie had a bad start dropping down the field. White led in the early part until Evi Davidson took the lead which she held for the majority of the race. Ellis Bell, Zane Sword and Euan House all held second at some point.

All the action happened into the final corner – elbows were out with some pushing and shoving. As a result a number of karts ran wide leaving a clear run from fourth to the chequered flag for Euan House. Evi Davidson came home second with Finlay Smith third. Fourth home was Ryan White and Ellis Bell fifth, all within a second of the winner. Leo Massie who broke the lap record in heat 2, was sixth. The top ten were completed by Thomas Jackson, Bella Brown, Max Taddie and Zane Sword.  Top novice driver was Calum Gardiner.

  • 1st – Euan House (Dumblane)
  • 2nd – Evi Davidson (Bathgate)
  • 3rd – Finlay Smith (Stuartfield)
  • Top Novice – Calum Gardiner (Bigger)
  • Tayside Award fastest time of the weekend Honda Cadet – Leo Massie – 43.233
L-R : Leon Henderson, Les Taylor & Chris Miller

Senior Rotax Max (16 years+)

Heading down the Boyndie Straight for the first time of asking Leon Henderson took the lead from Les Taylor. Taylor dropped to third but soon made his charge back to the lead to win by a comfortable 5 seconds at the flag. Chris Miller climbed to second in the early laps with the close attention of Leon Henderson.  Reece Duthie had to retire after losing his chain guard. Paul Stewart also retired mid distance with a damaged rear bumper. As the race drew to its conclusion Jonathan Edwards was closing in on Henderson but despite a number of attempts, Henderson held third.  John Knox took fifth and Scott Dunsmuir sixth. The top ten was completed by Keiran Smart, Gary Bird, Logan Blake and Craig McDowall.

  • 1st – Les Taylor (New Leeds)
  • 2nd – Chris Miller (Lanark)
  • 3rd – Leon Henderson (Newmachar)
  • Over 30 years Senior Max 162 – Chris Miller
L-R : Rhys Ballie, Leon Hastie & Steven Duncan

Junior Max (13-16 years)

Steven Duncan opened a gap in the early part of the race. Leon Hastie took up the chase and towards the end of the 24 lap final caught Duncan. At the end of Boyndie Straight on the last lap, he sold Duncan a dummy and squeezed through on the inside. Attempts by Duncan to regain the lead were in vain.  Hastie took the Championship with Duncan second. On the road Max Taylor was third but received a 5 second penalty for passing under a yellow flag which dropped him to seventh. Rhys Ballie took the final podium position with Sophie Kinghorn hot on his bumper for fourth. Fifth was Alex Hawcutt and sixth Eihli Smith. The top ten was completed by Jack Glen, Taylor Thomson and Kyle Cruickshanks. The novice trophy went to Darci Morrison.

  • 1st – Leon Hastie (Markinch)
  • 2nd – Steven Duncan (Aberchirder)
  • 3rd – Rhys Ballie (Broxburn)
  • Top Novice – Darci Morrison (Insch)
  • Mike Philip Award – Darci Morrison
L-R : Stewart McLennan, Robert Strachan & Alexander Kirkwood

Senior Max 177kg (16 years+ & min. driver weight 80kgs)

Robert Strachan took a comfortable lights to flag victory by a margin of eight seconds. Alexander Kirkwood ran wide over the rumble strips at the top of the circuit which dropped him to last. Initially Jamie Mackay took up the chase followed by Stewart McLennan. Kirkwood was scything through the pack catching Scott Maxwell at mid-distance for third. Kirkwood caught and passed McLennan on the last lap for second. McLennan was a tenth back as they crossed the line. Fourth was the novice trophy winner Gary Scott. Jamie Mackay fifth with Ayrton Redfearn sixth

  • 1st – Robert Strachan (Turriff)
  • 2nd – Alexander Kirkwood (Renfrew)
  • 3rd – Stewart McLennan (Loanhead)
  • Top Novice – Gary Scott (Elgin)
  • Over 30 years Senior Max 177 – Stewart MacLennan
  • Maxtrac Award – Robert Strachan
L-R : Alex Mackay, Ryan Simpson & Ally Smith

KZ2 UK (Gearbox) 16 years+

Pole-man Ben MacLeod led the first half of the final from Ally Smith and Alex Mackay. Ryan Simpson who started fifth was on the move. Passing Adam Barbour, then Mackay, Macleod and Smith, to take the lead on lap sixteen.  Simpson took the championship by over a second from Smith.  The final podium step was occupied by Mackay with Macleod fourth.  Top six was completed by Greg Moir and Barbour.

  • 1st – Ryan Simpson (Banff)
  • 2nd – Ally Smith (Peterhead)
  • 3rd – Alex Mackay (Inverness)
  • Top Novice – Ryan Cameron (Thurso)
  • Over 30 years KZ Gearbox – Ally Smith
  • Tayside Quaich fastest time of the weekend KZ – Jack Gordon – 32.045

Sheryl Borton, GKC Chairman, presented the trophies at the new podium after the meeting.

Next race meeting is on Sunday 14 August.

Full results can be viewed on Speedhive. Photos from the event available for view from Jake Smith.