Grampian Kart Club Facebook

BDOC Round 2 Report

bdoc round 2

The second round of the BDOC saw wet, windy and cold conditions for the first two heats but it improved to give dry sunny weather for the finals.

Honda Cadets

Ben MacLeod and Jonathan Edwards served up a tremendous race in the first final of the day. The race long battle started when pole man got off the line with Edwards followed through ahead of Logan Mann. MacLeod and Edwards broke away from the rest of the field. The lead changed constantly giving excellent entertainment for the spectators and it took a move on the final lap to give MacLeod the victory. Meanwhile another pair of Mann and Ben Burnett had formed. Burnett was on Mann's bumper until lap 10 when Burnett made his move to take third and maintained the position to the chequered flag. Tristain Rennie had a good run to take fifth. Sixth was Leon Henderson, who had been off the circuit at Moravian Corner and had a great recovery drive to make the top six. Steven Duncan came home ahead of Callum Welch for seventh and eight. In the battle of the girls Rebecca McPhee was ninth and Sophie Kinghorn was tenth.

1st - Ben MacLeod (Evanton)
2nd - Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)
3rd - Ben Burnett (Aberdeen)

Mini/Junior Max

There was a mixed grid of Junior Max and Mini Max Robbie Souter showed a clean pair of heals over Cameron McPhee and Reece Gillan to take the victory. In Mini Max, Logan Blake had the best start and took the victory from Craig Mann. Third was Aiden Welch from Ewan Johnstone and newcomer to the class Adam Kinmond.

Mini Max

1st - Logan Blake (Oldmeldrum)
2nd - Craig Mann (Aberdeen)
3rd - Aidan Welch (Banchory)

Junior Max

1st - Robbie Souter (Dyce)
2nd - Cameron McPhee (Inverurie)
3rd - Reece Gillan (Inverurie)

Prokart (Hire karts)

A large entry of prokart drivers being split into A and B finals with the front two of the B final progressing to the back of the A final.

There was a hotly contested B final with veteran Roy Wilson holding off Mark Wyness and Steven Donald. Donald was the unlucky driver not to progress to the A final.

The Prokart final developed into a three way contest. Stuart Dalgarno led the early part of the finals followed by Chris Walker and Michael Ogilvie. The trio closed up on Lap 7 and in a shuffle Chris Walker took the lead from Ogilvie and Dalgarno. This order was maintained until the chequered flag. Stuart Wyness maintaining fourth throught out the final but was being closed down and finally surcumed on the last lap to Edinburgh’s Neil Halliwell. Phil Couper came sixth ahead hard-charging Roy Wilson. Brett Cowan, Iain Wilson and Lewis Grant completed the top ten.

1st - Chris Walker (Fochabers)
2nd - Michael Ogilvie (Stonehaven)
3rd - Stuart Dalgarno (Peterhead)

Senior Max

David Eason and Keiran Smart shot off from the pack at the start. Smart was locked onto Eason's bumper and was a couple of times alongside but Eason held on and took the victory. Third on the road was Liam Souter who had got the better of Mark Geraghty in the early part of the final. Geraghty finished fourth ahead of Gary Williams. Some shenanigans had gone on resulting in Liam Ross getting black-flagged. Sixth was Connor MacIntosh, seventh Paul Harris and eighth was an unhappy Chris Cherry.

1st - David Eason (Turriff)
2nd - Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)
3rd - Liam Souter (Banff)

KZ2 (Gearbox)

Early leader was Ian Duncan from David Logan. A small bump fired Paul Dalgarno into the grass where the kart was abandoned. By the end of lap two Logan had grabbed the lead and was not headed until the chequered flag with Duncan taking second spot on the podium. Neil Anderson and Keith Morris were having a close battle for third until on lap eleven in spectacular stile Anderson’s engine blew up leaving a trail of white smoke. This left Morris to take third position. Dave Largue came home fourth ahead of John Robertson.

1st - David Logan (Aberdeen)
2nd - Ian Duncan (Aberchirder)
3rd - Keith Morris (Kinellar)

bdoc round 2 trophy winners

BDOC Round 2 Trophy Winners

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 14th June

Club Secretary, Dorothy Wyness presented trophies in clubhouse after the meeting.

News Archive