Grampian Kart Club Facebook

BDOC Round 3 Report

bdoc round 3

The third round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge took place at the Banff circuit on Sunday 22nd June. Still and dry were the ideal conditions for the heats but a drizzy rain came on for the finals.

Honda Cadets

Abbie Munro got the best start in the Honda Cadet final and immediate opening a ten-metre gap. She was chased by Craig Mann, Jonathan Edwards, Aidan Welch, Ben Burnett and Adam Kinmond. Mann began to close the gap but Munro maintained the lead and took the victory. Mann took the second spot. Welch gain third from Edwards on lap five to take the final place on the podium. Burnett and Kinmond had a race long battle, swapping positions numerous times. Unfortunate Kinmond clipped a wheel of a back marker causing him to spin ending his challenge. Burnett took fifth and Kinmond sixth. Patrick Duncan was seventh ahead of Logan Mann, Craig Blake and Will Dean.

1st - Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge)
2nd - Craig Mann (Aberdeen)
3rd - Aidan Welch (Banchory)

Junior Max

Following spins by Reece Gillan and Cameron McPhee, Robbie Souter led to the take the victory. McPhee came home second followed by Gillan.

1st - Robbie Souter (Dyce)
2nd - Cameron McPhee (Inverurie)
3rd - Reece Gillan (Inverurie)


The 'B' final was won by Mark Wyness and with five drivers going forward to the 'A' final the other qualifiers were Ryan McAdam, Brett Cowan, Stuart Wyness and George Douglas.

From the second row Ryan Cannon launched into the lead and escaped from the pack. Jack Gordon took up the chase with pole man Steven Allan and Ben Gordon.

Disappointment for Steven Allan on lap seven he ground to a halt with a broken accelerator cable. In the latter stages Ben Gordon received a drive through penalty which he did not take and was placed last. Cannon took the victory and second was Jack Gordon. Michael Ogilvie had come through from his eighth starting spot to take a credible third place. Mark Wyness also had a good run from eleventh to take fourth place. Stuart Dalgarno was next up followed home by Ryan McAdam, Brett Cowan and George Douglas.

1st - Ryan Cannon (Leven)
2nd - Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
3rd - Michael Ogilvie (Stonehaven)

Senior Max

'Barbecue man', David Kellock, only decided to come racing on Saturday night with a borrowed outfit put it on pole for the final. However it was Connor Wilson who took the early lead but by the end of the first lap Kellock was in front. Kellock and Wilson drew away from the rest of the pack. Ross Shearer gradually made inroads into the front pair and by the last few had caught them. Kellock took the victory and the podium places going to Wilson and Shearer. The battle for fourth was being hotly contested between Liam Ross, Liam Souter and Lucy Grant. The seventh lap all three were off at Shirlaws. This allowed Lewis Rae through to fourth and Tony Strachan fifth. However on the last lap red flags were shown to end proceedings as Ross was involve in a major accident. Rae and Strachan took fourth and fifth ahead of Chris Fraser, Reis Robertson, John Gronbach and Samuel Ashton.

1st - David Kellock (Fife)
2nd - Connor Wilson (Huntly)
3rd - Ross Shearer (Banff)

KZ2 (Gearbox)

The gearbox final split into two pairs. The front two of Michael Christie and Gordon Hawton sped off into the distance. Hawton was on Christie’s bumper for the early part of the final but Christie edged out a few lengths by mid-distance. Just as we were thinking it was all over Christie spun at the top of the circuit allowing Hawton through to take the chequered flag. Christie recovered quickly to salvage second. Ian Duncan had John Robertson on his bumper during the early laps but opened up a distance to take third place on the podium.

1st - Gordon Hawton (Peterhead)
2nd - Michael Christie (Banff)
3rd - Ian Duncan (Aberchirder)

Club Chairman, Andy Borton, presented trophies in clubhouse after the meeting.

bdoc round 3 trophy winners

BDOC Round 3 Trophy Winners

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 13th July.

Press report by Alan Wyness, GKC Press Officer

News Archive