Grampian Kart Club Facebook

BDOC Round 5 Report

bdoc round 3

A heavy down power of rain during the middle of the heats changed track conditions to wet tyres for the fifth and final round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge. This was the final GKC race meeting for 2015.

Honda Cadets

Jonathan Edwards got the best start from the outside of the front row to lead at the end of the first lap. He had opened a gap to Logan Mann, which he maintained for the whole of the final to take the victory. Mann had also opened a gap to Ben Burnett and Tristan Rennie. Rennie was tucked onto the bumper of Burnett and on the last lap grabbed the position to take the final step on the podium. Steven Duncan was next up to take fifth spot ahead of Darren Guijt, James Lamb, Callum Welch and Sophie Kinghorn.

1st - Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)
2nd - Logan Mann (Aberdeen)
3rd - Tristan Rennie (Dyce)

Mini/Junior Max

Craig Mann was leading the Mini Max class, chasing the only Junior Max kart of Robbie Souter. Mann suddenly disappeared into the pits and it emerged that his engine radiator had come loose. Tie-raps was the temporary fix but they did not last and he retired a lap later. Aiden Welch and Ben Macleod inherited the lead. Welch was able to stave off all MacLeod's moves and took the Mini Max victory. Keiran Glen took the final step on the podium.

Mini Max

1st - Aiden Welch (Banchory)
2nd - Ben MacLeod (Evanton)
3rd - Kieran Glen (Banff)

Junior Max

1st - Robbie Souter (Dyce)

Prokart (Hire karts)

Another large entry in the prokarts had A & B finals. The top two in final B were promoted to final A. The B final winner was Andrew Cruickshank followed by Martin Anderson were both promoted. Experienced, Ally Smith took the early lead and never looked back to win comfortably. The real battle was for second between Iain Wilson and Michael Olgivie. Wilson was in front until half distance when Olgivie grabbed the position.

Dominic Lund was the next through to third followed by Craig Mann and James Welsh. This left Wilson to finish sixth after such a promising start. Next up was Andrew Cruickshank, the B Final winner, followed Roy Wilson, Lee Erick and Stuart Campbell.

1st - Ally Smith (Longhaven)
2nd - Michael Olgivie (Stonehaven)
3rd - Dominic Lund (Cuminestown)

Senior Max

Pole-man Keiran Smart took the lead when the lights went out from his championship rival Liam Souter. Souter was chasing hard and charged up Boyndie Straight and made a move at MTM corner. However the damp conditions caught Souter out and he spun allowing Smart to sprint away. Souter made an instant recover and took up the chase without loosing a place. Smart went on to take the victory from Souter. Second was enough for Souter who won the BDOC Championship by a single point. Liam Ross was having a good run in third but was caught and passed on the last lap by Craig Mackay. Ross took fourth ahead of Gary Williams and Mal Forsyth.

1st - Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)
2nd - Liam Souter (Banff)
3rd - Craig Mackay (Banff)

KZ2 (Gearbox)

Ian Duncan was the convincing winner over Neil Anderson in the damp conditions.

1st - Ian Duncan (Aberchirder)
2nd - Neil Anderson (Insch)

Next race meeting at Boyndie will be in March 2016

Club Chairman, Mike Mann, presented trophies in clubhouse after the meeting.

News Archive