Grampian Kart Club Facebook

MSA Round 2 Report

MSA round 2

The second round of GKC Championships took place at the Banff circuit on Sunday 14th June. A westerly strong cold wild was keeping the wind turbines turning but kept the rain away.

The feature trophies of the day were the Kenny McKay Shield (Juniors) and the JRD Cup (seniors non-gearbox).

Honda Cadets (8-13 years)

Once the final settled a three-way battle took place for the lead Ben McLeod, Cameron Ross and Luke Scharf. Scharf was running strongly making it to second by half distance and taking the lead on lap eleven. However McLeod fought back and regained the lead on the penultimate lap. McLeod took the victory from Scharf and Ross. In the meantime a quartet had developed consisted of Logan Mann, Tristan Rennie, Ben Burnett and Jonathon Edwards. Edwards picked his way though the bunch to take fourth. Mann, Burnett and Rennie were separated by a tenth of a second between the karts. Next home was Callum Welch followed by Leon Henderson, Rebecca McPhee and Craig Blake.

1st - Ben MacLeod (Evanton)
2nd - Luke Scharf (Leven)
3rd - Cameron Ross (Muir of Ord)
Top novice - Tristan Rennie (Dyce)

Mini/Junior Max

The juniors were led away by Shaun Davidson followed closely by Robbie Souter and Cameron McPhee. Davidson gradually opened up a comfortably gap to victory from Souter and McPhee.

The Mini Max final turned out to be a very close affair. Craig Mann led away from pole with Toney Logie, Abbie Munro, Joshua Nekrewes, and Craig Blake in close pursuit. Logie made his move and took the lead on the third tour of the circuit. The five-kart train continued to circulate closely. Nekrewes and Blake swapped positions on a couple of occasions. With only a second separating the five karts Logie took the victory followed by Mann, Munro, Nekrewes and Blake. Aiden Welch came home sixth ahead of Ewan Johnston.

Mini Max (11-15 years)

1st - Toney Logie (Fife)
2nd - Craig Mann (Aberdeen)
3rd - Joshua Nerkrews (Cowdenbeath)
Top novice - Ewan Johnston (Newmacher)

Kenny McKay Shield - Craig Mann (Aberdeen)

Junior Max (13-17 years)

1st - Shaun Davidson (Longside)
2nd - Robbie Souter (Dyce)
3rd - Cameron McPhee (Inverurie)
Top novice - Cameron McPhee (Inverurie)

Senior Max (16+ years)

Elliot McIntosh completed the perfect day by adding the victory in the final to add to his three heat wins. Later he was awarded the JRD Cup. David Eason and Scott Beattie were in a close battle for about third distance. As the pair battled in the later stages allowed Kieran Smart to close. Beattie was ahead on lap thirteen but Eason regained the position on the penultimate lap. Beattie got on the inside at Kevinís Korner and they were side by side through Shirlaws. A slight touch pushed Eason wide resulting in Beattie finishing second. Smart came home fourth ahead of Chloe Scott, Robert Main and Liam Ross.

1st - Elliot McIntosh (Whitecairns)
2nd - Scott Beattie (St Andrews)
3rd - David Eason (Turriff)

JRD Cup - Elloit McIntosh (Whitecairns)

KZ1 (Gearbox)

The depleted field left David Logan the winner when Neil Anderson had a brake disc problem. Paul Dalgarno did not start.

1st - David Logan (Aberdeen)
2nd - Neil Anderson (Insch)

Jenny McKay presents Kenny McKay Shield to Craig Mann

Jenny McKay presents the JRD Cup to Elliot McIntosh

Jenny McKay presented trophies in clubhouse after the meeting.

Championship standings can be found here

Full race results available at MyLaps

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 12th July.

News Archive