Grampian Kart Club Facebook

MSA Round 4 Report

MSA round 3

Scottish Super Serial visited Boyndie Drome for the final round of the championships. It was also the fourth round of the club championships. Feature trophies of the day were the Mike Philip Trophy (juniors only and voted on by the officials) and the September cup for any class driver with the lowest points on the day.

Weather was mild and turned into a glorious summer afternoon.

Honda Cadets (8-13 years)

Cameron Ross, Ben McLeod and Oliver Hunter broke away from the pack early on in the final. Ross led the whole race until the last tour when first McLeod and then Hunter got through. McLeod took the victory from Hunter and disappointed Ross. Jonathan Edwards initially tried to stay with the front three but finished a safe fourth. A close midfield battle was taking place between Ben Burnett, Logan Mann, Oliver Stewart, Leon Henderson and David Mitchell. Stewart dropped out at Shirlaw’s bend on lap ten. Henderson was on Burnett’s bumper and took fifth on the last lap. Burnett crossed the line a tenth behind. Jake Western, the only Iame cadet, came home seventh ahead of David Mitchell and Logan Mann.

1st - Ben MacLeod (Evanton)
2nd - Oliver Hunter (Ayr)
3rd - Cameron Ross (Muir of Ord)
Honda novice - Darren Guijt (Kennethmont)
IAME novice - Jake Weston (Scunthorp)

Mini Max (11-15 years)

Toney Logie made the best start of the Mini Max class Mathew Collins and Abbie Munro. Collins took the lead on the third tour with Munro moving to second. Cameron Thomson was closing in on the front three. Munro slipped up the inside at gate corner and took the lead at the beginning of lap six. She held the lead for eight laps until penultimate lap when she dropped to fourth. Logie regained the lead with Thomson coming through to second. Collins came home third with Munro fourth. All fourth were only a second apart. Cameron Evans was next up followed by Alexander Kirkwood, Logan Blake and Joshua Nekrews.

1st - Toney Logie (Buckhaven)
2nd - Cameron Thomson (Dumfries)
3rd - Matthew Collins (Dunfermline)

Junior Max (13-17 years)

A small grid of junior drivers was led away by Jack Gordon who was never headed and won comfortably by eight seconds. Robbie Souter was second home followed by Abigail Ross and Ruaridh Clark.

1st - Jack Gordon (Whitecairns)
2nd - Robbie Souter (Dyce)
3rd - Abigail Ross (Muir of Ord)

Mike Philip Trophy – Jack Gordon (Whitecairns)

Senior Max (16+ years)

Tommy Leckie was under immense pressure during the early part of the final from Andrew Harvie and Elliott McIntosh. Gradually Leckie edged away while Harvie did a similar job on McIntosh. All three were separated by just over a second apart. Paul Stewart took fourth place at mid-distance from Mark Ross and held the position until the chequered flag. Next up Chloe Scott to take sixth. Lewis McNab, Kieran Smart, Gary Bird and Richard Stewart completed the top ten.

1st - Tommy Leckie (Denny)
2nd - Andrew Harvie (Newton Mearns)
3rd - Elliott McIntosh (Whitecairns)

KZ2 (Gearbox)

Once the final settled a trio edged away from the field. These being Stephen Philip, S plate Ryan Sharp and Ally Smith. Gaps open after passing a back marker but soon closed. Smith tried to get the inside on Sharp at Pit Corner but Sharp closed the door. Sharp was also rehearsing the same move a couple of times on Philip. A classic last lap last corner manoeuvre was coming and Sharp perfected it with the aid of a slight nudge following by a short sprint to the chequered flag. Philip was second with Smith third all three covered by only 0.3 of a second. Next up was Adam Barbour closely followed by David Logan and Liam McGill.

1st - Ryan Sharp (Westhill)
2nd - Stephen Philip (Stirling)
3rd - Alistair Smith (Longhaven)

September Cup – Stephen Philip (Stirling)

Susan McIntosh presented trophies for GKC after the meeting.

Championship standings can be found here

Full race results available at MyLaps

ASKC Scottish Super Series 2015 final results

Honda Cadets
Champion - Ben McLeod (Evanton)
Runner-up - Cameron Ross (Muir of Ord)
Third - Oliver Hunter (Ayr)

Mini Max
Champion - Toney Logie (Buckhaven)
Runner-up - Cameron Evans (Renfrew)
Third - Mathew Collins (Dunfermline)

Junior Max
Champion - Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
Runner-up - Abigail Ross (Muir of Ord)
Third - Ruaridh Clark (Perth)

Senior Max
Champion - Tommy Leckie (Denny)
Runner-up - Andrew Harvie (Newton Mearns)
Third - Mark Ross (Newton Mearns)

Champion - Stephen Philip (Stirling)
Runner-up - Liam McGill (Dysart)
Third - Scott Byiers (Crimond)

Other ASKC awards

Honda Cadet (best driver)- Ben McLeod (Bonar Bridge)
Macleod Endeavour Award – Robbie Gray (Evanton)
Over 30 Snr Max Driver – Andrew Harvie (Newton Mearns)
Over 30 KZ2 UK Driver– David Logan (Aberdeen)
Fraser Smart Trophy (female driver) – Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge)
Snr Max Maxtrac Trophy (best driver) – Steven Philip (Stirling)
Dave Sanderman Endeavour Award – Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge)

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 23rd August.

News Archive