Overcast conditions greeted the drivers at Boyndie Drome Circuit near Banff but it brightened up to a lovely spring day for the first round of the ASKC Scottish Super Series. 

The series will visit the other three tracks in Scotland, Crail, Larkhall and Golspie, later in the year.

For the first time a Bambino class (6 to 8 year olds) ran at Boyndie.  This was due to the earth works done during the winter and the granting of the track license from the MSA.

Feature Trophies on the day was the Dickie Bent Cup (GKC driver that has impressed the marshals) and the Pioneer Mutual Shield (Driver scoring the least points)

(L-R) Sonny Brandie, Aston Sharp and Katie Donaldson


The three Bambino drivers did a time trial with more experienced Aston Sharp being quickest from Sonny Brandie and Katie Donaldson.

  • 1st Aston Sharp (Aberdeen)
  • 2nd Sonny Brandie (Newmachar)
  • 3rd Katie Donaldson (Dufftown) 

Honda Cadets

Steven Duncan got away first and led for four laps. Owen Ross took the position on lap four.  Many changes were taking place but an incident on lap ten defined the race.  It took place in Boyndie Loop when three karts tried to go round side by side.  They were Owen Ross, Dylan Mackay and Connor Duncan. Contact was made.  As a result Ross lost the lead to Aidan Seaton and Steven Duncan.  The front wheel of Mackay was locked over the rear bumper of Connor Duncan.  By the time they got uncouple the leaders were away.  Ross regained second a couple of laps later.  The final positions were Seaton, Ross, S Duncan, Ryan Jack, Max Taylor and Leon Hastie.

  • 1st Aidan Seaton (Falkirk)
  • 2nd Owen Ross (Inverness)
  • 3rdSteven Duncan (Aberchirder)
  • Novice – Leon Hastie (Windygates)
(12) Jack Gordon leads (11) Jonathan Edwards and (89) Callum Meldrum

Mini Max

Jack Mackay took the early lead from Jonathan Edwards from the start lights.  Edwards kept Mackay honest through the race but could get close enough to challenge.  The race got spread-out and no passing taking place.  Mackay took the victory from Edwards, Callum Meldrum, Ben Burnett, Les Taylor, Rebecca McPhee and novice Harvey Branch.

  • 1stJack Mackay (Brora)
  • 2nd Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)
  • 3rd Callum Meldrum (Glenrothes)
  • Novice – Harvey Branch (Fife)
(46) Ben Macleod leads (51) Joshua Nekrews

Junior Max

Ben Macleod got the start from the outside line to take the lead at MTM Corner.  Joshua Nekrews followed with David Mitchell and Luke Scharf.  Nekrews was putting on the pressure and finally slipped through when he got on the inside at Kevin’s at two-thirds distance.  However Nerkews made an error at Pit Corner and Macleod at Gate Corner to resume the lead.  As the front pair battled Mitchell and Scharf closed them down.  Nerkews fought back and was soon back in front. Contact took place at Pit Corner and as a result Macleod was in the barrier and retired on the spot.  Mitchell took over second with Scharf third.  The chequered flag found Nekrews first followed by Mitchell and Scharf.  Fourth home was Hamish Ross followed by Tom Binnie and Matt McQueen.

  • 1st Joshua Nekrews (Dundee)
  • 2nd David Mitchell (Alvoch),
  • 3rd Luke Scharf (Dundee)
  • Novice – Matt McQueen (Golspie)
(98) Cameron Evans

Senior Max

Cameron Evans took the lead from the lights and got away from the pack.  Unchallenged he look his first senior victory at Boyndie.  Behind Jack Gordon fell victim to Andrew Harvey on lap two but regained the position three laps later.  Gordon set the quickest lap 37.734 seconds on lap seven but could not catch Evans.  When the race settled down Harvey, Abbie Munro, Keiran Smart and Cameron McPhee were fairly equidistance.  McPhee closed on Smart and got though at the end of Boyndie straight on lap eleven but made a slight error on the next tour for Smart to get fifth position back.  Fraser Skene came home seventh ahead of fellow novice Stuart Pollock.

  • 1st Cameron Evans (Paisley)
  • 2nd Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
  • 3rd Andrew Harvie (Newton Mearns)
  • Novice – Fraser Skene (Potterton)
(64) Jos Warren

Senior Max 177

The 177 class was included in the senior max final and Jos Warren took the victory.  Robert Strachan moved to second on the penultimate lap from Stuart Campbell.  David Urquart came home fourth.

  • 1st Jos Warren (Bucksburn)
  • 2nd Robert Strachan (Cuminestown)
  • 3rd Stuart Campbell (Muir of Ord)
  • Novice – Robert Strachan (Cuminestown)
(23) Jack Gordon leads

KZ2UK Gearbox

Jack Gordon lined up for his second final led away from Jack Brailsford at the end of the first lap. Scot Beattie tucked into third and moved to second on lap four when he got the inside line at Kevins Korner.  Gordon set the fastest lap on five with a time of 32.846 seconds.  In the fifteen-lap final Beattie started to close on Gordon.  Gordon took the victory by under a second from Beattie and Brailsford.  A race long battle between Shaun Davidson and Darren Allan was resolved with Davidson taking fourth. Gary Williams took sixth from Neil Anderson. 

  • 1st Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
  • 2nd Scott Beattie (Fife)
  • 3rd Jack Brailsford (Glasgow)
  • Novice – Colin McIrvine (Insch)

Feature Trophies

Dickie Bent Cup – Aston Sharp (Aberdeen)

Pioneer Mutual Shield – Joshua Nekrews (Dundee)

GKC Deputy Chair, Arthur Hedley, presented trophies in the clubhouse after the meeting.

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 13th May.