Grampian Kart Club were the host club for the 2018 ASKC (Association Scottish Kart Clubs) Scottish Championships at the Boyndie Drome Circuit near Banff over the weekend of 11th and 12th August.

The two-day meeting consisted of two heats on Saturday afternoon and two heats on Sunday morning followed by the finals in the afternoon. This was a well-supported event regarding drivers as well as spectators.

The weather was set fair on Saturday but overcast with a forecast of rain that did not materialised.

Katoni Engineering: Bambino

Result held until a technical issue is resolved.

(94) Leon Henderson celebrates

Specialised Oilfield Services: Honda Cadets

Top two drivers, Leon Henderson and Steven Duncan, broke away and circulated bumper to bumper for all of the 18 laps final.  Duncan grabbed the lead at gate corner on lap 14 but Henderson slipped through at the end of Boyndie Straight and took went on to take the chequered flag and became Scottish Champion 2018.  S Duncan crossed the line 9 hundreds behind.  Connor Duncan had circulated in third but lost the position on lap 12 to Zac Drummond.  Drummond held the position and took the final position on the podium.  C Duncan finished fourth ahead of Max Taylor and Sophie Kinghorn.


  • 1st Leon Henderson (Newmachar)
  • 2nd Steven Duncan (Aberchirder) 
  • 3rdZac Drummond (Glasgow)
(11) Jonathan Edwards leads

Pro Well Solutions Ltd: Mini Max

Jonathan Edwards got the best start and Callum Meldrum tucked onto his bumper. This pair broke away from the pack and circulated for the whole race until Edwards took the Chequered Flag. Meldum crossed the flag 0.3 second behind.  A group of four, Ben Burnett, Les Taylor, Logan Davidson and Rebecca Mcphee also circulated but the order did not change with Burnett to the third podium position. 


  • 1stJonathan Edwards (Cornhill)
  • 2nd Callum Meldrum (Kinross)
  • 3rd Ben Burnett (Oldmeldrum)
(53) Champion Luke Scarf

Expro: Junior Max

Two groups to three drivers formed once the race got underway. The first group consisted of Matthew Collins, Joshua Nekrews and Luke Scharf.  The second tri was Hamish Ross, Alistair Murison and David Mitchell.  The front trio began to fight slowing themselves allowing the second trio to catch.  Scharf took the lead on the last lap and took the chequered flag followed by Nekrews and Mitchell. Collins who had led 17 of the 18 laps was came a disappointed fourth.  Fifth was Murison and Ben Mcleod sixth, who had been off at the first corner.


  • 1stLuke Scharf (Dundee)
  • 2nd Joshua Nerkrews (Cowdenbeath)
  • 3rd David Mitchell (Avoch)
(23) Jack Gordon leads

HEDTECH Solutions: Senior Max

Reigning Scottish champion was not wearing the 2017 “S” plate but opted for his normal number 23 completed a lights to flag victory to retain his championship crown.  Clocking the quickest lap of 37.63 and an average speed of 50.92 mph.  Abbie Munro who passed Cameron Evans on the second lap chased Gordon but finish 1.4 seconds behind.  Ben Donkin moved to third on the third lap to take the final podium position.  Stuart Pollock came home fourth followed by Andrew Harvie, Evans, Gary Bird and Keiran Smart.


  • 1st Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
  • 2nd Abbie Munro (Bonnor Bridge)
  • 3rd Ben Donkin (Falkirk)
(64) Josh Warren leads

Well-Centric: Senior Max 177

Josh Warren escaped early from the rest of the grid and built up over a five second lead to take the Scottish Max 177 championship.  Mark Geraghty cruised to second being harried by the impressive novice Robert Strachan all the way.  Stuart Campbell took fourth and was followed home by Jay Mackay and Duncan Urquhart.


  • 1st Josh Warren (Aberdeen)
  • 2nd Mark Geraghty (Perth)
  • 3rd Robert Strachan (Cuminestown)
(16) Ryan Cannon lease (23) Jack Gordon

BSM Plumbing & Heating:  KZ2 UK  (Gearbox) 

Jack Gordon made the best start and led coming down to pit corner.  Experience, Ryan Cannon, was taking no prisoners and dived down the inside of Gordon to take the lead, which he never relinquish.  Gordon finished 1.3 seconds behind with Scott Beattie a further 1.5 seconds down.  Beattie set the fastest lap in the final at 33.094 seconds.  Next up were Jack Brailsford and Adam Barbour.  Gary Williams came home sixth just ahead of Darren Allan and Shaun Davidson.


  • 1stRyan Cannon (Leven)
  • 2nd Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
  • 3rd Scott Beattie (Edinburgh)

Special Awards

  • Tayside Award for Fastest Time of Day (Cadets) – Connor Leishman 
  • Jim Veitch – Over 30 award Senior Max – Mark Geraghty (Perth)
  • ASKC Over 30 award Gearbox – Ryan Cannon (Leven)
  • Tayside Award for Fastest Time of the Day (Gearbox) – Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
  • Mike Philip Memorial Award – Rebecca Mcphee (Inverurie)