GKC welcomed the first round of the Scottish Super Series, a four round Championship visiting Crail, Golspie and Larkhall during the summer.

 There was a good entry of 84 drivers across seven classes. Feature trophies were the Andrew Borton Memorial Quaich for Gearbox drivers and the Kenny Mackay Shield for the best performing GKC driver in cadet, Minimax and Jnr Max classes. Four class lap records were broken during the day.

18 – Lewis Kirkaldy

Bambino (6-7 years old)

Seven Bambinos took to the track for their four timed heats. On points Lewis Kirkaldy came out on top with Cooper Earsman second and Sorren Gallagher third. Fourth was Amelia Dalziel followed by Bruno Simonelli, Luca Bicocchi and Seonaidn Macphail. Cooper Earsman broke his own lap record in heat 1 with a 51.469 seconds.

  • 1st – Lewis Kirkaldy (St Andrews)
  • 2nd – Cooper Earsman (Whitehills)
  • 3rd – Sorren Gallagher (Mull)
126 – Euan House

Honda Cadets (8-12 years old)

The large grid of 23 Honda Cadets took to the grid. Ryan White led away from pole-position closely followed by Euan House, Zane Sword, Leo Massie, Calvin Moffat and Josh Cormack. House had a brief spell leading on lap 5 but White was back in front a lap later. White took the victory with House on his bumper.  Sword headed a group of five drivers covered by a second. Sword took third followed by Cormack, Moffat, Bella Brown and Leo Massie.

Novice trophy went to Amaya Thomson ahead of Max Taddei.

  • 1st – Ryan White (Aberdeen)
  • 2nd – Euan House (Dumblane)
  • 3rd – Zane Sword (Dundee)
  • Top Novice – Amaya Thomson (Prestonpans)
11 – Matteo Palazzo

Mini Max

Alexander Duffie took a lights to flag victory but it was not easy.  Alexander Reid was on his bumper for all 17 laps.  A tenth of a second separated the pair over the line. Matteo Palazzo was initially third but lost the position to Aiden MacDonald on lap 8. However Palazzo regained the position near the end to take third podium spot.  MacDonald took fourth from Charlie Kelso, fifth and Duncan Ingram, sixth.  Duncan Ingram broke the class lap record in heat 2 with a 38.414 seconds.

Rachel Turnbull snatched the novice trophy at the last corner from William Brazier.

  • 1st – Alexander Duffie (Bathgate)
  • 2nd – Alexander Reid (Stirling)
  • 3rd – Matteo Palazzo
  • Top Novice – Rachel Turnbull (Inverness)
25 – Jack Gordon

Senior Max (162kgs)

Jack Gordon, Les Taylor, and John Knox made the best start. Knox began to drop back from the leading pair. Gordon and Taylor swapped the lead many times.  Chris Miller, Keiran Smart, Reece Duthie, Jonathan Edwards took up the chase.  Smart moved up on lap 6 and was closing on Knox. Lap 13 Smart took third from Knox. Duthie, Edwards, Steven Napier and Miller a couple of laps later. At the front Gordon and Taylor were battling for the lead and as a result the pace slowed. This allowed Smart to close the gap. Gordon defended over the last few laps to take the victory by less than a tenth of a second from Taylor. Smart took third eight tenths back. Duthie took fourth followed by Edwards and Napier.

Jack Gordon lowered the class record to 36.073 seconds.

  • 1st – Jack Gordon (Whiterashes)
  • 2nd – Les Taylor (New Leeds)
  • 3rd – Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)
36 – Robert Strachan

Senior Max (177kgs)

A small grid showed Jamie Mackay getting the best start from Robert Strachan, Gary Scott and Jay Mackay. Strachan soon took the lead and pulled away. The race got spread out. Jay Mackay retired on lap 11. Strachan took the win followed by Jamie Mackay and Scott.

Robert Strachan lowered his own lap record to 37.024 seconds.

  • 1st – Robert Strachan (Turriff)
  • 2nd – Jamie Mackay (Halkirk)
  • 3rd – Gary Scott (Elgin)
  • Top Novice – Gary Scott (Elgin)
74 – Max Taylor

Junior Max

Craig Stephen took the lead when the red lights went out. Next up was Max Taylor, Rhys Baillie, Kyle Cruickshanks, Eihli Smith and Jack Glen. Baillie moved to second on the second tour. Stephen had established a gap but the second pair were closing on him. With Taylor retaking second on lap 11, Baillie took both of them for the lead a lap later. On the track Baillie took the chequered flag followed by Taylor and Stephen. However, in scrutineering Baillie was awarded a 5 second penalty for a dropped nose cone dropping him to fourth.  Therefore Taylor was awarded the victory with Stephen second and Smith third. Alex Hawcutt fifth and Jack Glen, sixth.

Madilda Brazier took the novice trophy ahead of Sam Arcari.

  • 1st – Max Taylor (New Leeds)
  • 2nd – Craig Stephen (Elgin)
  • 3rd – Eihli Smith (Westhill)
  • Top Novice – Matilda Brazier (Newmachar)
25 – Neil MacLennan

KZ2 UK (Gearbox)

Gary Williams got the best start over pole man Neil MacLennan when the lights went out in the 10 minute final. The pair broke free from the rest of the pack.  MacLennan tried hard to pass but Williams resisted every attempt. However on the 10th lap, both late braking, at the end of Boyndie Straight, MacLennan slide to the inside and through. Initially Williams dropped back but took up the attack and pressured MacLennan to the chequered flag. On the slow down lap the pair shook hands. Alex Mackay was running in third until his engine temperature rocketed, due to the water pump belt coming off and had to retire. Ryan Simpson filled the position and took the final podium step. Chris Walker a tenth back in fourth.

  • 1st – Neil MacLennan (Tore)
  • 2nd – Gary Williams (Ellon)
  • 3rd – Ryan Simpson (Banff)
Ryan White – Kenny Mackay Shield winner
Neil MacLennan winner of the Andrew Borton Memorial Quaich

Dorothy Wyness, Competition Secretary, presented the trophies after the meeting.

Next Boyndie meeting is on Sunday 12 June.

Full results can be viewed on Speedhive. Photos from the event available for view from Keiran Smart and Jake Smith.