The first round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge (BDOC) for 2024 was held over the weekend of 9-10 March.  There was an Easterly cold wind blowing across the circuit all weekend.  It was dry on Saturday but rain was added to the mix.  The club’s hire karts were run on the Saturday and all the other classes on Sunday.

The feature trophy on the day was the Dickie Bent Cup, voted by the marshals.

Hire Karts (Lights)

1st – Daniel MacRae (Elgin)

2nd – Blair McMahaman ()

3rd – Katerina Kazakoua (Aberdeen)

Hire Karts (Heavy) (Group 1)

1st – Oleg Kazakoua (Aberdeen)

2nd – Michael Rose (Ellon)

3rd – James Miller (Dundee)

Hire Karts (Heavy)(Group 2)

1st – Josh Orr (Pitmedden)

2nd – Mark Geraghty (Perth)

3rd – David Beckett (Daviot)

Honda Cadets

1st – Luca Bicocchi (Inverallochy)

2nd – Vinnie Lewis (Westhill)

3rd – Andrew Sutherland (Thurso)

Rotax Inter Max

1st – Lewis Stewart (Dingwall)

2nd – Ian Campbell (Watten)

3rd – William Alexander (Peterhead)

Senior Max 162 kg

1st – Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)

2nd – Gary Robertson (Mintlaw)

3rd – Kevin Kensett (Peterhead)

Historic Gearbox

1st Gordon Gray (Lasswade)

2nd Scott Benton (Aberdeen)

Junior Max

1st – Alex Hawcutt (Portlethen)

2nd – Owen Towler (Rora)

3rd – Mya Simpson (Dundee)

KZ2 UK (Gearbox)

1st – Ryan Simpson (Banff)

2nd – Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh) 

3rd – Craig Stephen (Elgin)

Dickie Bent Cup – Luca Bicocchi (Inverallochy)


Hire Karts Light (Group 1)

In a mixed grid of light and heavy drivers, Daniel McRae took a comfortable victory on his first outing of the season.  Blair McMahaman had a clean drive for second.  Kat Kazakoua came through some ‘Heavy karts’ for third.  Mehran Fard came fourth a head of Josh Stewart. 

Hire Karts (Heavy) (Group 1)

Oleg Kazakoua was the victor with ahead of Michal Rose.  James Miller took third and Peter Morrison fourth.

Hire Karts Heavy (Group 2)

Josh Orr took a lights to flag victory.  Mark Geraghty climbed through the field during laps 2 and 3 to second and finished in that position.  David Beckett took the final podium position.  Graham Smith took fourth followed by Shaun Stewart and George Antonopouls.

Honda Cadets

Luca Bicocchi took a lights to flag victory from Vinnie Lewis.  Lewis had taken Andrew Sutherland on lap one and was keeping Bicocchi honest.  Munroe Stephen was fourth.

Rotax Intermax

Lewis Stewart got a clean start to lead.  Ian Campbell and William Alexander got past Ryan Fraser on the first lap.  

The race got spread out with the victory going to Stewart followed home by Campbell, Alexander and Fraser.

Senior Max 162kg

Gary Robertson led away from the lights from Kevin Kensett and Jonny Edwards. Edwards squeezed to the inside at MTM bend. Later in the lap he took the lead over Robertson. The order remained unchanged with Edwards taking the victory over Robertson and Kensett.

Historic Gearbox

Gordon Gray made the best start over Scott Benton.  However Gray out braked himself at MTM corner at the end of Boyndie straight allowing Benton to lead.  Benton was pulling away until he spun on lap 9 at post 3.  Despite much pushing the kart would not restart.  Gray took the chequered flag.

Junior Max

The most exciting race of the day started with Alex Hawcutt taking the lead from Jude Fraser, Mya Simpson, Owen Towler.  The four opened a gap over the rest of the field.  Towler moved to third on the second lap and second on lap five.  Towler took the lead at Kevins Korner but the experienced Hawcutt immediately regained the position.  A duplicate manoeuvre took place two laps later with the same result.  Hawcutt took the victory by 0.2 seconds over a delighted Towler.  Simpson took Fraser on lap 9 to take the final podium position.  Fifth was Leo Massie ahead of Duncan Ingram and Ella Matheson.

KZ gearbox

Poleman, Ryan Simpson was away from the standing start when the lights went out.  Jack Simpson took up the chase and kept the leader honest throughout the final.  Ryan Simpson took the victory by less than a second over Jack Simpson.  Craig Stephen came home third.  Neil Anderson had a spin early on was fourth with Ross McWilliam retiring on lap three.

Trophies were presented in the clubhouse after the meeting by the Club’s Chair Dorothy Wyness.

The second round of the BDOC will be on 14 April.

Full results can be found on Speedhive –

Alan Wyness

GKC Press Officer